The Best {No Sugar Added} Banana Muffins

I originally made these muffins as a healthy alternative to the sugar-filled, buttercream-topped Pioneer Woman vanilla cupcakes I made for Miss G’s 2nd birthday party, and they’ve quickly became a favourite.  Gracen loves them, Brad gobbles them up, and I often pack an extra in the diaper bag to eat while on the go. So this morning, on the first football Sunday of the year, Miss G and I whipped up a fresh batch.

IMG 9467Here’s our line up of ingredients… Ripe bananas (we used two fresh and two icky frozen ones), grapeseed oil, an organic egg, pure vanilla, wholewheat flour, baking soda, baking powder, cinnamon, and salt (which can easily leave out – we left it out when we made these previously, so we decided to try it with this time… no difference).  Oh – and walnuts if you wish. Gracen always wishes for nuts. And I agree –  they definitely make these muffins yummier.

IMG 9471First off, add your bananas and the other wet ingredients to a large mixing bowl.  

IMG 9474Mix until mostly smooth and only slightly chunky.

IMG 9476Next, place all of the dry ingredients, except the nuts, in a separate bowl.

IMG 9479And give them a good stir.

IMG 9483Once mixed, add the dry mixture to the wet mixture.

IMG 9484Mix just until blended.

IMG 9485If you’re adding nuts to your muffins, crush them up a little bit…

IMG 9487Add them to your muffin batter…

IMG 9490And give the mixture a stir.

IMG 9492Lastly, grease a muffin tin with some grapeseed or olive oil, scoop the mixute into the cups, and top with a walnut if desired.

IMG 9494

Bake until cooked through and golden brown.

 

The BEST {No Sugar Added} Banana Muffins (adapted from Bob Ewing‘s recipe)

  • 4 large ripe bananas
  • 1 organic egg
  • 1/3 cup of grapeseed oil
  • 1 teaspoon of pure vanilla
  • 1 1/2 cups of wholewheat flour
  • 1 teaspoon of cinnamon
  • 1 teaspoon of baking soda
  • 1 teaspoon of baking powder
  • 1/2 teaspoon of salt (completely optional – I’d choose to leave it out in the future)
  • 1/2 cup of walnuts, crushed (plus more for topping)

Preheat oven to 350° . Prepare a 12 cup muffin pan by brushing it with grapeseed or olive oil.

Mix the bananas and other wet ingredients until the mixture is mostly smooth and only slightly chunky.  In a separate bowl, mix the dry ingredients (save the walnuts) well. Gently mix the dry ingredients into the wet ingredients.  Fold in walnuts if adding them.  Fill greased muffin tin with the mixture and top each muffin with a whole walnut.  Bake at 350 degrees for 20 minutes.  Let cool.

Enjoy!

 

Tagged , , , , ,

18 thoughts on “The Best {No Sugar Added} Banana Muffins

  1. littlefashionistas says:

    She’s so cute cooking!

  2. Chels says:

    looks good! and cute!

  3. Nivaine says:

    Hello, I’m from Brazil and I do not know much English. I came to your blog when searching on the Montessori method. (I read by the translator). I am completely in love with his daughter. Pretty much her ​​cooking … In reading nook is a beautiful. I’m trying to make a corner in this style for my daughter of 11 months. Congratulations on the blog. (sorry for English – google translator)

  4. Jen Fischer says:

    This is my kind of recipe (and I love the cook). I do not have a mixer though, but it seems like I could make this without and I think my preschooler would enjoy helping.

  5. just made these with my four year old and he loves both the photos and the recipe!

  6. Pretty nice post. I simply stumbled upon your blog and wished to say that I have really loved surfing
    around your weblog posts. After all I will be subscribing in your rss feed and
    I’m hoping you write again soon!

  7. Becca says:

    These were wonderful! I didn’t have grapeseed oil but canola oil worked just as well! Also didn’t have cinnamon so I substituted ginger … could barely taste the ginger, can’t wait to try with cinnamon I think they may give them and extra kick of flavor. Anyway, thanks for sharing!

  8. Re says:

    Thanks for the recipe, the muffins really turned out great! I am very pleased with the consistency, unfortunately my bananas weren’t ripe enough, so they lack a bit of sweeteness, but the taste is really good. I will definitely make them again!

    • jkossowan says:

      I’m so glad, Re! And yes, since these muffins rely solely on the bananas for their sweetness, they do have to be quite ripe! Just wait until you try them again with ripe ones!!!

  9. lifewithgusto says:

    These were fantastic and so easy. Thanks!

Leave a reply.

