Miss G’s Weekly Toddler Calendar

DIY Weekly Toddler Calendar | Mama Papa BubbaWhile Gracen is usually more than game for impromptu adventures, she is, without a doubt, a little girl who thrives on routine and structure.  She very much enjoys being part of the process when it comes to selecting activities and outings and regularly asks me which day of the week it is so she can figure out our agenda for the day.  “Tomorrow is Thursday, Mama?  We have dance class on Thursday! What day it is today?” she’ll say.  I find that when she has a clear picture of our days and knows what’s to come, she’s calmer, happier, and transitions more easily (as many kids do, I think).  

In the winter when we were registered in several classes, I realized that having a visual representation of our week would benefit Gracen greatly.  I knew exactly what I was looking for… A single week calendar that was simple, clearly laid out, easy for Grae to manipulate, and picture-based.  I scoured the web, but when I was unable to find just what I wanted, I decided to make my own.  

IMG 8249I actually made ours using Pages (an awesome word processing program for Macs), but a design-based program like Pixelmator or PhotoShop would obviously work perfectly too.  Since Grae and I do quite a lot on our days at home on our own and weekends tend to include more downtime, I opted for full spaces for Monday to Friday and a shared space for Saturday and Sunday.  

IMG 8247After finishing up the calendar itself, I set off to create activity cards that would fit nicely onto the calendar’s columns. To start off, I made a long list of the activities we do regularly and searched for clipart to match.  I popped the pictures into boxes and added in some text in along the bottoms, and they were done.

IMG 8251Because I wanted the calendar and activity cards printed in colour and  as 11 x 17s, I paid the few dollars it cost to have the files printed professionally.  Then I took everything home, cut the activity cards out, and trimmed the edges of the calendar.

IMG 8538With my pieces cut out, it was back to the store to have everything laminated.  While I think I could have fit everything into 2 laminating pouches, the woman working there was worried the pieces were too close together, so 3 it was (which came to around $14).

IMG 8540Next, I cut all of the laminated pieces out, making sure to leave a substantial plastic border around the edges.

VelcroI went back and forth on whether to use magnets or velcro several times before finally settling on velcro.  The determining factor was the realization that with velcro pieces, the calendar can still be used on a fridge or magnetic board, whereas the opposite isn’t true.  Plus I had a giant roll of adhesive-backed velcro already on hand (if you don’t, you can find similar stuff at fabric, hardware, dollar, and teaching stores), which was nice. I simply cut out squares of velcro, put the scratchy pieces on the activity cards, and the fuzzy pieces on the calendar itself.

IMG 8547With everything ready to go, Gracen and I chose a spot for her brand new calendar (the excitement was uncontainable!)  We thought about putting it in her room or in the hallway just outside of her room, but chose to put it in the kitchen instead, as it’s where we start most of our days.  Now, while I make breakfast, she’ll be able to take a look at her calendar and see what we have planned for the day.

IMG 8604One thing we made sure to do when hanging it was to place it nice and low so that Miss G can see it and move pieces around easily (thigh height on me is perfect for Grae).  I hung it up using painter’s tape rolls, but you could easily use poster mounting squares or something similar. (Teacher tip: If you use tape rolls, place them horizontally to avoid your calendar slowly slipping down the wall.) We’ve had the cool magnetic strip hanging below for a long while now and hadn’t yet found the perfect use for it until now.   While a bag or pouch would do just fine, the magnetic strip holds all of the activity cards  and allows them to be seen all at once which is a perk. 

IMG 8602We’ve only had it up and running for a few of days now, but so far, Gracen is loving her calendar.  As soon as it was hung, she immediately wanted to plan out our week together.  First we popped up things that needed to be done, like errands, a trip to the library to exchange our soon-to-be-due books, and our Thursday dance class, and then we chose some just-for-fun activities for the other days.  She scheduled a hot drink date for her and Bradley on Saturday morning while I’m at a workshop (adorable!) and a family trip to Granville Island on Sunday (fun!)  

In the morning when we wake up, her ‘calendar station’ is the first place she goes. We take a look at the plan for the day, make adjustments if needed, and get our day started.  Today, when she saw that we were going to the library, she immediately went around the house making sure that all of her books were gathered and then began getting dressed. ☺  If it continues to have the same effect it has so far, I think this little calendar is going to be a great tool for us.  

Because I’ve borrowed the clipart from around the web, I wouldn’t feel right about making a printable version for all to use available here, but if you’re a parent or teacher who would like to print out a calendar for personal use with your child or a particular student, feel free to leave a comment below or email me at jen{at}mamapapabubba.com.  

♥ 

For extra fun, like us on Facebook here and find us on Instagram here.

 
 
Tagged , , , , , , ,

115 thoughts on “Miss G’s Weekly Toddler Calendar

  1. Wonderful idea, thanks for sharing!

  2. Sarah Whelan says:

    Hi, love this idea and have been on the lookout for a suitable calendar for my little one. Could you email me the PDF please when you get a chance?

  3. This is amazing. My son totally needs this. We both do! Would you mind sharing with me?
    suziebaitland@gmail.com
    And I am LOVING your blog!

    • jkossowan says:

      Hi Suzie! I wouldn’t mind at all! I’ve got you added to my list and you can expect a copy to land in your inbox some time this weekend. 🙂

      And THANK YOU!

  4. Seriously cool. : ) I would love a copy of this!
    mandafaith@gmail.com

  5. Great idea! (And I love your design sensibility.) Will definitely have to remember this for when Miss Z is old enough.

  6. grade1apis says:

    Jen this is really cute. I’d love a copy for Jess, please!

  7. abbieleigh says:

    I’ve been searching all over the web and Pinterest for calendar ideas for my three year old. This is perfect!!! I would love a copy as well please. Thank you! Abbiepaxman@gmail.com

  8. Jane Mccarney says:

    This is amazing. I made something like this for my girl recently but it doesn’t look as nice as yours. Could you add me to your list too please Jane_mccarney@hotmail.com.

    Thanks++,
    Jane

  9. I love this calendar, but I’d need something slightly different for the shape of my weeks – I have Pages on my iPad, how would I start making something like this?

    • jkossowan says:

      That’s great that you already have Pages – that makes it really easy! Basically it just involves using the ‘shapes’ tool to create the coloured columns, and text boxes to add the wording on top. Let me know if you have any specific questions – I’d be happy to help! 🙂

  10. I’d love a copy too , I love your ideas thanks for sharing
    myriam.pedersen@hotmail.com

  11. Tiffany Lee says:

    This is exactly what I am looking for! Unfortunately, we do not have Pages on our Mac. I would love a copy if you are still willing to share! tiffanynacolelee@gmail.com

  12. heather hemphill says:

    this is so cute. thank you. I would love a pdf. moto736@aol.com

  13. katecostphotography says:

    this is wonderful! would love a pdf please 🙂 thanks! kcost8@gmail.com

  14. jkossowan says:

    Thanks ladies! For all of you who have added your email addresses since my last comment, you can expect it in your inbox this weekend! 🙂

  15. Meagan says:

    We would love a copy. This is such a great (and creative) idea. mklipstein@gmail.com

  16. Beth says:

    This is just what I have been looking for for my son while I’m home for the summer. We would love a copy! Robinett09@hotmail.com. Thanks!!

  17. Sarah says:

    This would be perfect for my son and a child in my classroom. Would you mind sending it my way? Thank you! sarah.leever@gmail.com

  18. Amelia says:

    I would love a copy! Amelia.barrows@gmail.com

  19. Angie says:

    I’d love a copy for my daughter. Thank you! adtrumble@comcast.net

  20. Kristi says:

    Cute idea! I would love a copy as well! Thank you. 🙂 kmsorger@hotmail.com

  21. Kate says:

    I would love a copy (pdf) of calendar and cards too. Thanks so much! kirish77@yahoo.com

  22. jkossowan says:

    Hi all! So glad you like our calendar. If you’ve requested a printable copy via comments or email, you should now have it in your inbox. If you don’t for some reason, please let me know. 🙂

  23. Hi Jen! I’d love a copy if it’s still an option! Sorry for the late post! jeepgirlstacy@msn.com. Thanks either way!! =)

  24. melanie says:

    Fantastically done! =). This is awesome & would love to have a copy as well, please! =). Love Miss G’s what she eats too! =). Great inspiration for our family! Thank you! =).

  25. Hi Jen, this is such a fabulous idea! I would love a copy as well please. Thanks so much!

    Angela (at) onesmileymonkey (dot) com

  26. Julie says:

    Please pretty please can i have a printable copy too for my little biys? 🙂 love your work! So inspirational.

  27. Meredith Ruelle says:

    I would love a copy too 🙂 If I want to change the format for the Saturday/Sunday to full days, is that possible? Thanks!

  28. Stacey Rivera says:

    Would love a copy if you still have it available. stacey.rivera@gmail.com

  29. Christie Millis says:

    I love this! I have been searching at teacher/learning stores for this very thing and haven’t been able to find a format I liked. Would love a copy at christie.millis@gmail.com– thank you!

  30. Nora Redpath says:

    is it too late for me to have a copy? Thanks 🙂

  31. Leesa W says:

    This is GREAT! I love Pages too 🙂 I hope it’s not too late to get that PDF? Thank you so much…and well done!

  32. Renae Moore says:

    That looks fantastic I’d love a printable version for my two girls if thats ok?

  33. Brenda says:

    I love your ideas of the weekly calendar and would love to have a copy to do with my little girl.

    Thank you so much,
    Brenda

  34. Ela says:

    I love this! Would love a copy at ee.rogo@gmail.com thank you!

  35. Renae Moore says:

    My email is naemoore@gmail.com – thanks so much! Renae

  36. Melissa C says:

    I would love a copy! my e-mail is melissa.carter0101@gmail.com

    Thanks! 🙂

  37. Lynne Griffiths says:

    Hi! I’m training to be a teacher & absolutely love your ideas! My daughter would also love this, So if you could email me a PDF I would really be grateful! Thank you! LOVE your blog! 🙂 Email is Lynne.m.griffiths@hotmail.co.uk

  38. Amanda says:

    I love this! I have been looking all over for a toddler chart like this. Could you email me the PDF?
    Mandsmint@yahoo.com

  39. Barbara says:

    Hello! This is great!!! May I have the PDF??? Many thank yous!

  40. Kim says:

    This is awesome. Could you send a copy to klkslp @aol.com. My granddaughter would truly benefit from this …keep up the good work!

  41. Brianne says:

    I love it! I have started to working on the weather with my little one. Can you send me a copy? brianne_midkiff@yahoo.com

  42. kim sanchez says:

    Wonderful idea. I would love to make this for my granddaughter, just for use in my home. Thank you for sharing 🙂 kimsanchez23@gmail.com

  43. Katie Evans says:

    What a great idea! I would love a copy for my little one during the summer, and for one of my students who visually needs to see our routine each day! kasper529@yahoo.com

  44. Amy Rosenfield says:

    Great calendar! Would love a PDF emailed to me at aphilly@gmail.com. Thanks!!

  45. Erin says:

    I would love a copy. I am excited to organize Kaylee’s summer and think that a weekly calendar will help with transitions.

  46. Gina says:

    I would love a copy of this!!! Especially since we are starting Kindergarten in the fall 🙂
    gcessford@gmail.com

  47. yasmingoska says:

    Hi again, goska2009@live.co.uk, thx

  48. Jenn KG says:

    I love this. would love a copy. my daughter likes to know what is going on everyday. I guess I’m raising a planner

  49. Brandie says:

    Auntie Jen, Jackson would love a copy also!! We don’t have a MAC but a PDF file would be wonderful 😉

  50. Karla says:

    I would love a copy…kbesand@gmail.com…thank you!

  51. Courtney says:

    My daughter Sedona would love a calendar like this! The pictures are great for her age (almost 3)!

  52. Tasnim says:

    Awesome! My son is 18 months today although he’s been a toddler for months already lol. I would love a pdf of this visual calendar…thx in advance!

  53. Hi Jen!! I would love a copy! Please and thank you! sarah@imforkids.org

  54. Nanci says:

    I would love a copy too! shipster@gmail.com

  55. Lindsay says:

    I would love a copy lwhite31@hotmail.com. Thank you!

  56. Claudia says:

    I would love a copy!! Cjarquin10@gmail.com Thank you!

  57. This is so special. I’d love a pdf copy. Wish I had a mac. Pamelastewart@rogers.com – and…thank you! My twins will LOVE it!

  58. carlyeddy says:

    I’d love a copy too! Thanks. 🙂

  59. cathy piso says:

    c-piso@shaw.ca, thanks 🙂

  60. Renee says:

    Hi Jen, I would love a copy for my daughter.

  61. Julie says:

    this is awesome!! please can I have a copy for my boys?

  62. Sarah says:

    Yes please! It’s fantastic, my little Lottie would love it x

  63. jkossowan says:

    Alrighty! If you’ve requested a copy of our toddler calendar previous to now (either here or via email), it should be in your inbox (if not, please let me know)! I apologize to those of you who requested particular fonts, colours, and formatting changes… At this point, I’m just sending out the PDF as is, but if I happen to take on customized calendars in the future, I’ll be sure to let you know. 🙂

    If you haven’t yet requested a copy, but would like one, please leave a comment here or email me directly at jen{@}mamapapabubba{dot}com. Please note that it’s very helpful to leave your email address directly in your comment as it makes things much faster for me.

    Thank you! ❤

  64. Sarah says:

    This is great I have been liking for something like this. I would love a copy of the PDF my email is sarahlynn9008@gmail.com
    Thanks!

  65. Stephanie Peterson says:

    Love this! Could I get a copy at petersonstephanie@pleasval.k12.ia.us. Thanks!

  66. Tab says:

    Love it! Could I please have a copy of the PDF? Email is walker.bacn@gmail.com
    Thanks!

  67. Jordan says:

    I also love it! This will work great for my 2.5 year old. My email is jordz_00@hotmail.com.
    Thank you!

  68. I would love a PDF. Would you mind sending one my way?

  69. Hi! I have been looking for something like this! Can you send me the PDF? Thanks!!!

  70. Ichigo says:

    Hi! This is exactly what I’ve been looking for to help my 2.5 year old understand his routine for the week. What a great idea, beautifully executed! I’d love a PDF at jandkhoffman@hotmail.com

  71. kira says:

    This is such a great idea could you please email me a copy…thank you 🙂
    kirajrobb7@gmail.com

  72. janet says:

    this is amazing! I love your idea! if you are still emailing pdfs I would love a copy as well 🙂 mrsjanetson at gmail.com thanks!

  73. Jenna says:

    This is amazing! And you already include some of my favourite places to take my boy (I’m looking at you, Granville Island!). I’d love it if you could email me a copy!

    Thank you!

  74. Emily says:

    I would love a copy for my little guys! emilyjoycep(at)gmail.com This is such a great idea! Thank you

  75. Vanessa Ellinor says:

    LOVE THIS. could I trouble you for the pdf? divanessa@hotmail.com

  76. Rebecca says:

    I love love love this. My two-year old daughter’s schedule changes every week with our non-traditional work lives and we are trying to give her a sense of what comes next. Could you please send me the PDF? Thank you!!

    And please let me know if you ever do a commercial/Etsy version! This would be amazing with stickers or magnets on a whiteboard surface or pad (e.g., lulalu weekly calendar). I know tons of kids and parents who would adore these as gifts to help reign in our insane modern lives.

  77. Ashley says:

    This is exactly what I’ve been looking for! I’d love a copy of the PDF if possible. My little ones will be very grateful!

  78. jkossowan says:

    Alright, another mail out is complete! If you requested a PDF of our calendar during the month of June (via comments or email), it should now be in your inbox. 🙂

    Thank you for all of the lovely compliments and I’m happy we could help. I hope the calendar works as well for you as it’s been working for us. 🙂

  79. Stacey says:

    I would LOVE a copy of the calendar and clipart(if possible) this is exactly what I’m looking for for my 3 year old! Thanks so much… Love the blog! Spout3@gmail.com

  80. Shortymama says:

    Can i have a copy of the PDF files? This is perfect, we were just discussing how we always talk through what to expect for the next few days and the kid doesn’t seem to grasp what’s going on. A weekly calendar seems like just the thing!

  81. Meg says:

    I sent an email (but I know that sometimes Gmail gets caught in the spam filters), so I thought I’d comment here too. I’d love to have a copy when you get a chance. Thank you! meppel@gmail.com

  82. Elvira Bates says:

    i would love a copy please thank you and fuzzies xxx misselviraroom8@gmail.com 🙂

  83. Jenny says:

    I would love a copy of this!! So creative!! Jennynuzzo@gmail.com

  84. milehighmom says:

    I would love one, in Pages format if available. My toddler would love this to help her count down to school days. Thanks!

    tressarose@gmail.com

  85. michelle says:

    Yes please…I would love a copy in PDF form. Thanks so Much! michellemoors1@hotmail.com

  86. Aubre says:

    What a great calendar and you are so kind to share it. You have so many good ideas on your blog! I would love a PDF of your calendar whenever you have time. I know my 3 year old would love it! aubrerios@gmail.com Thank you!!

  87. Jessica says:

    I could use this with my 3 year old! Brown3500@verizon.net thanks!

  88. Chelsea Griswold says:

    This is just what I’ve been looking for! I would absolutely love to use this for my son! Will you please send it to me as well? Thank you!

  89. Karen Tune says:

    I would love this for my toddler. I was a teacher before I had my two little ones, but my elementary ones are too much for my 2 year old. This is perfect! Could you please send it my way? Karentune@gmail.com–Thank you!!

  90. Lyndal says:

    i would love a copy of this to print! What a well done calendar. My email is LyndalKG@me.com. Thank you.

  91. Jamie says:

    Brilliant! Please add me to your list Jamie@motokazie.com

  92. Michelle says:

    This looks perfect for my little guy. Could you please send me a copy?
    Michelle
    sincmac@yahoo.ca

  93. Sarah says:

    I would love a copy as well. Thank you!

  94. Kate says:

    Beautifully done. I would love a copy! katybarb(at)yahoo.com

  95. Sarah says:

    I came across your weekly toddler calendar while searching the internet for similar ideas for my 3 year old son. This it the best I’ve seen in my opinion! Simple, clear, and organized. If you are still emailing out copies of the calendar and clipart I would truly appreciate a copy if possible. I’ve been using paper links that we create to count down for special events i.e. family coming to visit or a holiday, and this would complement our count downs! Thanks so much in advance. sll1213@aol.com

  96. Margo says:

    This is absolutely gorgeous for organising my little one’s week! Would be very grateful to have this please if you are still sharing it.
    margogirshfeld@gmail.com

Leave a reply.

